A piece of advice by Danny Romard / Un par de consejos de Danny Romard

image2

Hey guys! Let me begin by saying you won’t find specific advice on watering, drainage, soil, or any other of these items in this post– BUT! You just might find the most valuable advice for anyone hoping to develop a greenthumb.

Ready?

OK, the two most critical things that anyone wishing to grow a healthy garden -and along the way cultivate a deeper connection with all things living- need are:

  • First: a viewing or two of the classic 1979 film “Being There” starring Peter Sellers.
  • Second: advice from your local Wise Ole’ Sage.

“Being There” is a must watch for everyone. We’ll discuss the movie more after you’ve watched it. Trust me. It will make sense then.

Seeking out your local Wise Ole’ Sage is essential! They’re out there! In order to transform yourself into a gardener and grow things you must first seek those who are well versed in the workings of this earth. Usually they come in the form of Grandmothers, but not always. And it isn’t always just one person. In my case it was a friend from Texas (no, not Willie Nelson, unfortunately) and my girlfriend’s grandmother. My friend showed me how to properly water my plants and how to get the most out of my available light. Grams (that’s what Dora, my girlfriend, calls her grandmother) schooled me on the seasons here in Guangzhou, China. Since being imparted with this wisdom my garden has been in full bloom.

Ok, go watch the movie and seek out your very own Wise Ole’ Sage. Good luck and until next time!


Qué onda, banda! Vamos a empezar diciendo que este no es un post sobre específicos como el riego, el drenaje o tips sobre el mejor suelo posible. PERO… quizás hayan llegado al más valioso consejo que se vayan a encontrar jamás sobre el mundo verde. En la vida. En el universo. En Pachamama. En Gaia. Sin exagerar.

¿Listos?

OK, las dos cosas más importantes para lograr un jardín saludable y frondoso -y, en el camino cultivar además una profunda conexión con todos los seres vivientes- son:

  • Primero: ver (una o dos o tres veces) el clásico de 1979 “Being There” con Peter Sellers estelarizando el film.
  • Segundo: los consejos de tu Viejo Sabio local.

“Being There” es un must watch para todos. Discutiremos un poco más la película una vez que la hayan visto. Confíen, todo tendrá sentido una vez que vean esta joya.

Buscar y encontrar a tu Viejo Sabio local es esencial. ¡Sí existen, y están allá afuera! Para transformarte completamente en un jardinero y comenzar a cultivar y desarrollar plantas y comida, primero tienes que encontrar a aquellos letrados en los manejos y en la magia de nuestro planeta. Usualmente vienen en la forma de abuelas, pero no siempre y no son necesariamente una sola persona. En mi caso, es un amigo de Texas (desafortunadamente no, no es Willie Nelson) y la abuela de mi novia. Mi amigo Texano me enseñó como regar propiamente mis plantas, así como cómo aprovechar al máximo las condiciones de luz de mi departamento. Grams (así le llama Dora, mi novia, a su abuela) me educó en las estaciones aquí en Guangzhou, China. Desde que esta sabiduría llegó a mi, mi jardín a florecido como nunca antes.

OK, láncense a ver la película y a buscar a su propio Viejo Sabio. ¡Buena suerte y nos leemos pronto!

Leave a Reply

